• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

joy.

This morning was my first day of running…well run/walk.  I was out the door at 6:00 a.m. Nobody is up and about in London at that time of the morning…it’s not that kind of city.  I did see a milkman in his funny little open-sided van, (yes, milk delivery still happens in the UK) but that was it.  I didn’t really want to get out of bed and go running this morning, even though the sun was shining, and I had been awake since 4:00 when the smoke detector started making that annoying beep to let you know the battery was dying. (I promptly pulled it from the ceiling and removed the battery).  But I did it!  I’m trying to conquer the mental side of this running thing.  I started thinking about getting to run, not having to run.  My two kids love to run.  Every day on the way home from school, they run as fast as they can from the train station to our house….complete with heavy backpacks.  Only one way to describe them when they get to run.  Joy…pure joy.


One Response

  1. I remember that feeling. Getting to run. What a great idea.

Leave a Reply

