• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

the slow movement

Slow Food – “We believe that everyone has a fundamental right to pleasure and consequently the responsibility to protect the heritage of food, tradition and culture that make this pleasure possible. Our movement is founded upon this concept of eco-gastronomy โ€“ a recognition of the strong connections between plate and planet” Slow Food International

Slow Travel – “With Slow Travel you experience a deeper type of travel by staying in one place longer and seeing the things that are close to you” Slow Travel

Today I started Week 3 of C25K. And the emphasis was on S-L-O-W. Week 3 seemed more serious. Miss Lady was more serious on the “Get Running” app, and she emphasized, if you get tired, don’t stop, just SLOW down your pace. You go from 1.5 mins at a time running to 3 mins, still a total 0f 9 mins.ย  (Granted it’s still only 3 minutes…sigh) Regardless, I heeded her advice and had a great run.

I like the Slow Movement — In food. In Travel. In Running.

That said. I don’t want it to take me an hour to run a 5K.

11 Responses

  1. Hmm…I’ve heard of slow travel but not slow food. I will check it out.

    I hope it doesn’t take us an hour to run a 5k at the end of all this!

  2. There is a small slow food movement here in England….see their cittaslow.org.uk website. Ludlow is a slow food town (one of my favorite places in the world), and they had great food festivals in the grounds of the castle. I had to run with the kids today. A bit distracting.

  3. What’s the significance of the bird picture?

  4. It’s a Dodo Bird. A slow bird.
    Too abstract, huh?
    Maybe I should have used a turtle.

  5. Appropriately named – it looks like a bit of a dodo

  6. Nostalgic smile. When I did the Couch Plan for the first time last summer, Week 3 was the first week I had to repeat… because I could not jog for 3 minutes straight! I felt I should not go on to Week 4 until I could do Week 3 as written. So don’t worry… it’ll come…

    You guys are gonna make a killer team of runners! Yes, I’m sure… because you all seem to have perfect attitudes of good humor ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I’m actually enjoying week 3. It seems the 3 minute run was easier than the 1 minute runs 2 weeks ago.

      • Col, are you still sprinting the last leg? I’ve been adding an extra 90 second run to the end. But my last three minute section has been really slow.

  7. That said, check this out… speaking of good humor about C25K ๐Ÿ™‚ this guy cracks me up.
    http://jackfit.blogspot.com/2010/05/20-minutes-of-hell-c25k-love-story.html

Leave a Reply

