• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

oh foam roller, how I love / hate thee

Over the years, I’ve unfortunately had reason to visit a handful of physical therapists for various ailments.  At one time or another pesky piriformis, IT band, knee and shoulder issues have all put me out of action or at least made action painful.

Whenever things start to get out of whack again, I get out my trusty foam roller for a little tough love.  And when I say tough I mean an unyielding,  make-you-cry-for-your-mother kind of bruiser.

If you’ve never had the pleasure of using a foam roller, let me just say you are in for a treat.  Basically, you use your body weight and the roller to apply direct pressure on muscle knots.  There’s a nice little summary about it over at Running Times.

Photo Credit - Running Times Magazine

This image looks so benign but, let me tell you, the IT Band Roll is a killer.  It works for me though so it’s worth the pain.  It just doesn’t seem like it in the moment while I’m muttering profanity and trying not to whimper like a baby.   I’m warning you, good people, in case you decide to try it for the first time at a gym in front of a bunch of folks.    Be strong.   The good thing is, if you keep at it regularly you start to release those knots pretty quickly.    I’m always surprised at how loosey goosey I feel after I’ve finished a session.

After two days of self-imposed rehab for my pilates overindulgence, the roller is ever so slowly starting to work its magic.   On my second Week 3 C25K workout yesterday I made it through the entire run/walk without incident.   Keeping my fingers crossed that my muscles remain unbunched for the rest of the program.  Wish me luck!

4 Responses

  1. Where do you use it? I have a knotty area on my arch. Would it help this?

  2. I use it on my legs, back and bum mainly. I do all the exercises they show in the Running Times article (see link in post) plus one for the piriformis. There are lots of videos on youtube.

    Where is your knotty arch area? Is it back near your heel? I have a whole series of other foot stretches I do for my plantar fasciitis. Let me know if that’s the case and I’ll send them to you.

  3. Can you use it on your shoulders and back? Is it really hard or is it squishy? Where do o get one?

    • I do use it on my back – mainly mid back to shoulders. Gives it a good cracking and helps loosen up those muscles.

      It’s very firm – think styrofoam – with a tiny bit of give. I think I ordered mine online but you might be able to find one in a sporting goods store.

Leave a Reply

