• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

wearing the pink for 5k

doing my part to kick cancer's ass

When I signed up for the Susan G. Koman Race for the Cure last week, I fully intended to just continue my C25K Week Three workout with additional iterations as needed.  No biggie.  But then David persuaded me to try to run the whole thing.    I had my doubts – I really did.  How was I going to manage 5k when I was just now running three minutes continuously?

I spent a lot of time in denial for the last three days.  The “slow and steady” advice from friends and coworkers was not convincing.  What if I run out of air?  What if my legs give out?  What if it’s really humid and the sun’s in my eyes and my shoelaces come untied and I trip and fall in the middle of the bridge and have to be carried out on a stretcher in front of thousands of Richmonders?  All valid concerns in my mind.

Then I read the quality of the try by MrsFatass and How to Meditate While Running from Runner’s World, both of which gave me some strategies for dealing with the mental aspect of the challenge.   And focusing on the meaning behind the race helped me look beyond myself  to the bigger picture.

I wish I could say I ran all the way.  I didn’t.   Did I mention the hills?   And the wicked headwind?  And my exceptionally poor running form (which I seriously need to work on now that I’ve seen the photographic evidence*)?   Anyway, despite my excuses, I did run jog 34 out of the 42 minutes it took me to finish.   Woo hoo!  My longest stretch of running was 21 minutes – that’s seven times longer than my three minutes earlier this week.  And I met my goal of finishing in 45 minutes.  Not a lofty goal but a goal met all the same.

Next year I’m running the whole way.  In 30 minutes.  In shorts.

* Many thanks to David who slowed to a snail’s pace to keep me moving and take action shots of me that will never ever be posted on the interwebs.

11 Responses

  1. Heather! I didn’t even know you were doing the Race for the Cure this weekend! 21 minutes just like that. I’m inspired.
    And that’s a great t-shirt and medal.
    Way. To. Go. Kick some ass.

  2. I thought I told you guys – or maybe I just said I was thinking about it. Oh well, I did it! Now the 20 minutes of week 5 day three seem a lot more doable. : )

    That medal is definitely a keeper.

  3. WOW! I knew you were doing the race, but I didn’t know it was already here. It’s a great event isn’t it. Great job. I love race t-shirts. Did David get a pink one, too. Really impressed girl.

    • David got a white one with a circle of pink ribbons on it. Love my pink one. There were some fun team t-shirts. My fave was “saving second base”. Awesome.

  4. You’re awesome, you’re amazing, and you’re… sneaky! You did a race on the sly, you devil, while still in training… way to kick some fancy bum! Hope you weren’t too sore afterwards 🙂

    • Thanks! My bum is feeling pretty fancy at the moment. ; )

      Everything else is feeling pretty good too. Just a little sore in the quads from running downhill to the finish line.

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog. What a great idea for yours! Sisters keeping in tough. Too fun! No why the heck don’t the 3 of you wear shorts??? Come to Georgia and you’ll want to wear them year round.

    Laura

    • Vanity, pure and simple! Looking forward to the day when my legs are back in fighting shape and I can wear shorts again proudly. Hope that happens fast because Richmond summers can be brutal. : )

  6. […] other.   Weird.  Anyway it all worked out and I was given a clean bill of health.   Doing the Komen race was my public “coming out”.   I don’t intend to hide it […]

  7. […] Which translates to a 38.75 minutes to do a 5K.  Which is only a few minutes faster than the Komen 5K I did two months ago at week THREE in the program (and included eight minutes of walking).  […]

  8. […] finished together in 34 minutes and 40-something seconds – about 8 minutes faster than my first race in the spring!  Feeling […]

Leave a Reply

