• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

you had me at “get your body back”

fit over 40

slam dunk marketing

I’ve gotta hand it to Prevention Magazine.  They sure know how to woo a 40-something looking to recapture her youthful bod.  I spied this special addition at the grocery store a few weeks ago and could not pass it up.   I mean really – do you see how happy she looks?  I want to be that happy too.

In addition to searching for general health tips, I’ve been looking for a workout to supplement my C25K training.   Something that would engage my abs and upper body and maybe stretch me out a bit.   So far I’ve tried pilates, yoga, free weights and hula hooping with mixed results.  Mixed because I’m not being consistent if we’re being honest here.

Anyway, today I tried the 30-Minute Speed Training Strength Plan featured in the magazine’s Essential Over 40 Workout.   The gist of the plan is to target type II, or fast-twitch, muscle fibers to rev up your metabolism *.  They recommend doing the plan three days a week.  So I’m going to try to do it on the days between C25K and then just do yoga on my last day of the week for a good stretch.  I’ll be interested to see how/if it impacts my run tomorrow.  I’ll keep you posted.

* I skipped the extra-twitchy 30 minute cardio plan because I will be starting C25K Week 4 tomorrow!

7 Responses

  1. Loved your honesty about your “mixed results” 🙂 big smile. I’m a target-market sucker myself… bought a sub to Women’s Health last year, for the fitness tips mostly (oh alright, for the sex tips too).

    My results are hindered by food issues now, not exercise. I eat way too much. I’m sure my ab muscles look just like this gal’s… but unlike her, mine are hidden under a layer of belly fat, darnit!

    I’ll post a pre-success torso shot if you do? Then we can both be on magazine covers by the end of summer. What’d ya say? HA!

    • Pre-success torso shots!? Should we put on our best muffin-top inducing pants and bend forward? That way the after shots will be much more dramatic. ; )

      My food issue is too much Starbucks and starch and not enough vegetables. I can’t believe how easy it used to be when I was younger when I rarely made crappy food choices. Maybe it’s a middle-age hormonal thing. Do you think we can blame that?

      • Uh… no. Being honest with ourselves has left the building, HA!

        And for the record, I can select any pants & do not have to “bend forward” to get a good muffin top goin’ on, girlfriend… just sayin’ 😉

      • LOL. Honesty is way overrated anyway.

  2. Hey, I just clicked on the plan link… I have a set of GoFIt PowerTubes… maybe I will try this series too? I could use something for the “cross-training days” recommended on my plan for this year. Thanks!

    • Cool! I’ll be interested to see how it goes for you. My only problem with the plan so far is that Daisy steps all over me when I’m laying on the floor. Or she parks her 91.5 pound behind on my belly which makes the crunches kinda hard.

      • Oh, Daisy, honey! She’s just trying to help 🙂

        My cat Eddie also loves when I get down low. He rubs my head, purring, while I do my pre- & post-run exercises. I know he’s just attention-grubbing, but I tell myself he’s being supportive.

Leave a Reply

