• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

gomer motivation

I’ve been listening to the podcast “Two Gomers Run a Half-Marathon. A podcast about two regular guys doing something they’ve never done before”

Very popular. Very funny guys. Highly recommended. Check out their website, especially their theme song. “We are two gomers….” Two Gomers Half-Marathon Theme Song. They did it, by the way.  The half-marathon. And now they’ve moved on to Season 2: “Two Gomers Run a Marathon” http://www.twogomers.com/

Week 4 Day 1 of C25K was great today. It’s all about form for me right now. Which forces me to go slow.

I cracked myself up today when “Run Joey Run” (the Glee version, yes) came on while I was running. I felt both like a dork and…a dork. That’s all I got.

Love their low-tech logo.

10 Responses

  1. Run Joey Run – a classic Glee video. You sound like you’re having way more fun with your training than I am. Maybe it’s the field of hay.

  2. Listening to episode 0 now. The Two Gomers are great. Will definitely check out more of the podcasts.

  3. If it aint fun, I aint doin it.
    The field helps. I have to say. Today I also went off-field into the woods. Requires a little more concentration, but…good.

    I’m putting up a post tomorrow about Love. It’s from Born to Run book. And an important creative philosophy of my own life.

    Yeah, The Gomers are great aren’t they? Try listening to them on your run. It’s a good distraction.

  4. I love trail running – even though it does take more focus.

    I don’t know if I could listen to the Gomer’s and still get my run/walk cues right. Might give it a go though. Have been listening to the Amelie soundtrack at my laptop when I’m working. I might try that on a run as well.

    • Love that soundtrack. Love Amelie. I’ll try that today.

      I can listen to the Gomers because the lady on the app chimes in when I have to switch. She is so great on Week 4, I got to say. Who is this woman?!

  5. What the heck is a “Gomer?” Good Lord, I have to really work at keeping up with you guys, in more ways than run!

    And Colleen, I now have a bug up my butt for Benny Goodman, thanks to your Macbeth site. Moonglow’s a crappy running tune, but it’s great audio-crack when I’m painting in my studio. Love it! (I felt I should out that I’m creeping you guys on the side, HA!)

    And Heather, I loved your nutrition post today. We already covered that I need to cut back on my portions, which is really difficult… but maybe a smarter selection of chow will make that easier for me? You’ve got me thinking about that 🙂 I’m watching you, HA!

Leave a Reply

