• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

do these shoes make me look fast?

30% smaller

So, I needed some new running shoes and decided to try something different this time around.    Something that might help me feel lighter on my feet.  I’ve been poking around the Newton Running website for weeks and finally decided to check their shoes out in person at Three Sports in Richmond.

I felt like such a jock just walking in there.  The store caters to triathletes (thus the name) and had all sorts of cool gear.  After a quick consultation and a run down the sidewalk I found out that I am indeed a heel striker.  Their regular shoes are geared toward midfoot / forefoot strikers.  But they also have a guidance trainer that offers more support in the heel.  It’s supposed to help with transitioning to more of the barefoot / midfoot / forefoot style.  They didn’t have the stability model in the guidance trainer  but I went ahead and bought it anyway.  I hope that decision doesn’t come back to bite me.  Fingers crossed.

Yesterday was my first day in the new shoes.  Really light-weight.  I liked that a lot.  I tried to focus on what I was doing with my feet instead of mindlessly running.   It was Week 5, Day 2 so only 8 minute runs.  This morning my calves were a little sore – definitely should have stretched some more last night.  You’re supposed to ease into these shoes so I’m trying to decide if I want to go ahead with the 20 minute Day 3 run or do another set of 8 minute intervals and then recycle week 5 altogether next week to give me more break-in time.

What to do, what to do?

p.s. I love the green and orange.  Good wake-up colors.

2 Responses

  1. Heather! You’re so far ahead of me. Us. Cathlin, where are you?
    I’m starting Week 5 tomorrow. But first I have to finish Week 4 today. Not going to take a break between (come on…it’s 16 minutes of running).

    You might try transitioning between your old and new running shoes as you get used to the new shoe and new form. I’m checking these Newtons out also. After trying yours on, I like the feel a lot. Lots of good reviews on it. too.

  2. […]  Should have been easy peasy – just a few 5 and 8 minute runs – but no.  Even with my fancy new shoes, no dog distractions and a razor sharp focus on my form (semi-lucid if we’re keeping it […]

Leave a Reply

