• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

fancy bums bubble and squeak

In addition to beginning Week 5 yesterday, I also did 1) some cooking and 2) some bum exercising.

1) Cooking: Vegan Yum Yum.  A really lovely blog and app full of vegan food. I’m not a vegan, but I maybe could be. Except for ice-cream. Cheese. Eggs. Right…anyway. I made Lolo’s (blog author) BUBBLE and SQUEAK. According to Wikipedia, and Cathlin you should know this, Bubble and Squeek is “is a traditional English dish made with the shallow-fried leftover vegetables from a roast dinner. The chief ingredients are potato and cabbage.” Here’s her picture (and mine looked just like these.) Delicious. Very filling. And I’m not worried that if you google Bubble and Squeak the second entry is a recipe from “TWO FAT LADIES BUBBLE AND SQUEAK”. Theirs has lard in it.

Bubble and Squeak Recipe from Vegan Yum Yum

2) Fancy Bums – I’m not seeing much change in my body since I started running. My bum. Particularly is not getting any fancier. So. Today I started Tracy Anderson’s Mat Workout. Tomorrow, I may not be able to walk. Her method is to exhaust the ancillary muscles. The result not to bulk up but to make yourself tiny, like a ballet dancer. I may not be able to walk tomorrow. Did I say that? Or pickup my fork. Or do Day 2 of Week 5.

10 Responses

  1. Bubble and Squeak???!!!
    Those are beautiful. I don’t think I have ever seen them in a patty. Usually just piled up on a plate. I’m going to make them.

    I think my legs are actually getting bigger. Need the fancy bum workout.

    • The patty was so satisfying to make. And since the ingredients are pretty much fat free (especially if you use Earth Balance,which is awesome), frying them is so yummy. Not greasy. Delicious. And pretty.
      I used Season Salt instead of Old Bay. Bubble and Squeak!

  2. actually I need a workout for to correct the droopy bum problem

    • This is why Tracy Anderson’s method is cool. It works the little muscles that support the big ones. I am sore in such strange places today, like the top of my bum. Her method is supposed to RESHAPE. Which I feel is what I need. What with the saddlebags and all, which refuse to budge. And the droopy bum.

      There are all kinds of video clips of her stuff on Youtube. For example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taCiMBFc0sc

  3. Wow – that video on her website looks cool. I can see how it would get to some spots you rarely use. Have you tried your C25K workout after doing the Tracy Anderson thing?

    My weight is exactly the same but I’m starting to see some bum and saddle-bag firming. It’s taking it’s sweet time though. Might have to try that video. So far I haven’t really been doing anything on my off-days. Still adjusting to trying to change my form.

  4. It does look yum yum! I love sauteed cabbage plain, so this is even better. Like a lightly fried colcannon 🙂

    But the name… um, please tell me it’s not called that because of any sounds that may come from your tummy or fancy bum after eating it? Seriously?

  5. Good to know, ha ha!

  6. I think the name bubble and squeak originally comes from the sound this dish made while cooking
    really? what’s the squeaky bit?
    rubbery meat?

Leave a Reply

