• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

downhill…

IS VERY GOOD.

I finished Week 5 today, the 20 minute run with no breaks. But I did most of it running downhill. And it was so easy. Aerobically. It took more concentration, but it was fun and light.

I feel like I cheated.

So, I’m going to do this day again.

Also. I can’t seem to think of anything that makes me versatile. Other than the lack of versatility in myself and my life.

I’m procrastinating on the versatility post. I got nothing. Am I really so singular? I’m reminded of this quote:

“If you’re coasting, you’re either losing momentum or else you’re headed downhill.”

Wince.

I think this is a sign (pun). Yesterday we rode up to Rosendale, NY. On the front porch of this house was a chalkboard. With this message from David Mamet’s play Glengarry Glenn Ross.  “Always be closing”. Definitely a sign.


6 Responses

  1. Colleen, did you do the big hill near your place? I ran down that once and it was awesome.

    And no, you are not singular – you are plenty versatile! And, the seven things about you don’t necessarily have to be about how you are versatile – just interesting nuggets about you. : )

    • Yes, the big Moffat Rd. hill. It was awesome.
      O Good. I think I can come up with some interesting nuggets.

  2. How did you get to the top in order to run downhill? Always be closing? Translation please

    my seven things certainly weren’t about being versatile… more like odd facts. Actually I forgot that was the theme of the post. Typical.

    • I got to the top of the hill by walking up the hill. 1 mile up. 1 mile down.

      Always be closing, from the Mamet play, means always have your eye on closing the deal, the guys in the play are in sales, real estate I think. It’s a famous line. “A-B-C: A-always, B-be, C-closing. Always be closing! Always be closing! You think they came in to get out of the rain? A guy doesn’t walk on the lot unless he wants to buy. Sitting out there waiting to give you their money! Are you gonna take it? Are you man enough to take it?” — Alec Baldwin in Glengarry Glen Ross (from the movie version, 1992)

  3. I did day 3 week 5 this morning! I liked it. I just went pretty S…L….O……..W.

Leave a Reply

