• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

Summered.

Can this count as my Versatility III post?

Oh Goody.

Tanning – I found this at Target today. Hawaiian Tropic Dark Tanning Oil. I bought it. It smells like teen-beach-summer. I love the beach. I love the ocean. I love California. I lived in Florida. I hated Florida but I loved the white beaches. I used to tan like crazy when I was in high school. And I used this rare blend of nature’s rich tanning oils to tan/burn turn into tan. As a result of excessive teen tanning, I have a really nice brown spot on the side of my face. Got it checked after my son was born. Doctor said no worries, it’s just an age spot. Age spot. Ten years later, my spot is still with me. My friend recently told me she liked it. I’m using the Hawaiian Tropic as my after shower moisturizer. It’s heavenly. And it brings me back to Virginia Beach and steamy Poquoson, VA backyards.

Exodus from the Field – This has to do with running. And nature. 6 weeks into our C25K program and I still don’t feel like much of a runner. Yesterday, for example. I was set to head out into the field for Day 2 of Week 6. I waited until like 9:30am. I headed toward the field, 5 steps out of my door, and a fox came running out the field. A fox! So awesome, the Fox is back! Shoot…A fox, damn, hope he didn’t eat the baby turkeys. We have 8 baby turkeys and a mom in the field. I decided to take the path not taken by the fox. But as I stepped into the sun and the field, I caved. It was hot, steamy, the field grass had gotten so high, there were bugs everywhere, large flying black bugs, and a bullfrog belching in the ditch. Nature was turning me off. I didn’t run. I went inside and did Tracy Anderson instead. I’ll run tonight. I didn’t run that night. I’m out of the field for the summer. Did I mention ticks?

Running – I did, however, get up and run at 6:40 am down my tree-lined lane. Back and forth. But when my (somewhat) creepy neighbor showed up on the lane during my run, I detoured to my driveway. Cheating on my 10 minute continuous run while I waited him to clear from my private track. I want to be a runner! I’m not, however. New plan: Run more than the C25K. I think I need to run more frequently. And get up earlier. 6am. And, have a solid goal to run towards. Ed, my husband (and ultramarathon runner) and I are signing up for this race in October: Down and Dirty Mud Run. He will have just finished a 100 mile race the week before and said a 5K would be a good way to ease back in.

Teaching – I feel like I spend a lot of my time looking for a full-time job. I have 3 master’s degrees. I’m over-degreed. I’m an adjunct professor of Theater at SUNY Westchester Community College. I’ve taught in all kinds of places, small private colleges, big state universities, private high schools, professional theaters. But I’d never taught at Community college. It was a different ball game. My first semester I couldn’t wait to be done and never come back. I didn’t get these students. I couldn’t relate. Why didn’t they do their homework and why do they talk like that? Then I remembered what a  great teacher told me, “Teach the students you have, not the students you wish you had.” I started looking at them in a new way. They have jobs. Some are supporting their family. Just getting to class on the County bus can take hours. They didn’t learn academic discipline in high school. For many, they are first generation college students. They are naive and unworldly. And they need a teacher to respect them. I went back for Spring semester, enlightened. How can I make meaningful learning experiences for these students? It was a great semester. Full of learning and mutual respect. I’m going back in the fall, (barring a full time better paying gig), to my eager, appreciative students who have showed me that naiveté can be a blessing.

Theater – Theater is what I do. I don’t want to get artsy touchy blah blah and say it’s what I am.  But it’s what I love. It’s what I love to teach. It’s a world I understand and am endlessly fascinated by. This summer I’m luring some actor friends up to Cold Spring for a Retreat. For a few days, we’ll start exploring a new project to do. I’m promoting a Grass Roots/Local/Rural Theater movement. I think it’s the new wave, the new hip theater trend. Go Local, get out of the City. Here’s a blog of a company I started that’s now on permanent hiatus. But we did some cool work on Macbeth for a while. Shakespeare’s my guy. http://sprezzaturamacbeth.wordpress.com/.

My Kids!, Family, twins, food, academia, wine, travel, silly silliness, people humans i love humans, Photography, I hate clutter, Clean laundry is the best smell in the world, if I could do it over again I’d be a musician or a dancer, Music!, vulnerability, romance, people doing things that they don’t realize they can do and then they surprise themselves and everyone else because it’s Good.

That’s enough. This is unedited pure versatility. 

8 Responses

  1. Awesome. I love reading and writing these kinds of posts. It’s fun to try to boil your life down to a few tidbits. And you can pinpoint differences in our personalities (ENFP vs ISTJ) which fascinates me.

    I never could use the Hawaiian Tropic but I remember the smell. My freckled paleness meant I had to go for the white SPF variety (which was probably only about a 5 at the time – woo).

    The down and dirty sounds like fun! They have something similar here called Muddy Buddies. Stay out of the field!

  2. Hawaiian Tropic Tan Tan Tan. Remember the jingle? I was too pale for it, too. I didn’t know there was SPF back then.

  3. I really enjoyed reading that. You are a good writer. Reading about what you do and love makes me not want to go to work on Monday. I’m glad you stick to what you have a passion for…. your students are lucky!
    We have foxes in London. They get into the trash and have no fear. I see them when I run at 6:00 am. Which is the time to go running by the way. I’m envious of your field….so is my family.
    Best smells….fresh ground coffee beans before they become coffee, cinnamon rolls in the oven, and basil.

    • Oh yeah, that’s a top ten smell combo. Freshly ground coffee beans + cinnamon rolls in the oven. Mmm mmm mmm.

      Sometimes I don’t want to go to work either. I hear you. It’s not all roses and kittens. But a tweak in perspective can cause a giant change.

      I don’t know about those city foxes. Do they live in the parks and then attack the trash like rats or raccoons? Are they ever aggressive, or are they like, “Whatevs” when you pass them on your run.

      Thanks for liking my post. It was fun to do.

  4. more good smells
    and coconut with lime….
    and a gin and tonic with lime

    • gin and tonic with lime. oh that’s a good one.

      how about, gin and tonic and lime + the ocean. on your balcony. in newport beach.

Leave a Reply

