• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

over the hump, part II

Sunday was day 3 of week 6. My first day out in my new running shoes!  I assumed I’d be doing some longer runs with nice breaks in between, so was I surprised when miss lady said “today you will be running for 25 minutes with no breaks”!  What?!  I guess it had to happen eventually, but I  certainly didn’t feel ready for that.  It was a beautiful evening and I had no excuses, so off I went.

I started out as usual – shuffling like a little old lady.  After what felt like forever… “you have 20 minutes left, you can slow down but keep going”.  How could I go any slower?  I plodded along some new neighborhoods to keep me interested/distracted.  I laughed out loud when she said “you have been running for a quarter of an hour”.  You can’t fool me lady I know that is only 15 minutes.  However, I WAS still running.

Then what I had been waiting for since we started this journey happened….I got into a groove.  I remembered that place from when I used to run years ago.  The time where you stop feeling slow and heavy and start feeling like a runner and you actually enjoy it.  I picked up my pace considerably for the last minutes (Lady Gaga blasting in my headphones).  I got home and felt great.  Maybe it was a fluke.  Could it be the new shoes?

Tuesday.  Week 7 day1.  Same gig…25 minutes.  Another great run.  This time I can call it “a run” and not feel like a phony.  I know there will be some challenging days ahead, but there’s no turning back now girls.

5 Responses

  1. Yay for great runs!

    I’m still waiting to have one. In fact the only time I can remember getting into the groove like that was when I was swimming laps one evening years ago. I felt like I could go forever and only got out of the pool because it was getting dark!

  2. Yeah, I remember that in swimming as well. You are gasping for breath the first 10 laps and then it just somehow gets easier.

  3. Awesome awesome. 25 minutes is huge. That’s why I keep avoiding Day 3, Week 6. I saw that coming. Yesterday I also had a great run. I did the two 10 minute runs, and instead of taking 3 minutes of walk break, I shortened to 1.5 minutes. And the second 10 min run was nice. Enjoyable. In the groove. Less, little-old-lady-shuffling. California day helped. Maybe maybe I’ll be brave enough to try the 25 minute run by…Friday. Congrats, Cath.
    What kind of shoes did you get?

    • I got Asics, gel with a number of some sort after it. I wanted something with one of those cloud names – nimbus, cumuls. Thought it might make me feel very light on my feet. But they didn’t feel good, so I went with the gel again. I still bust out the old black ones every now and then.

      • Think I might have to buy another pair of Asics Kayanos. They’ve been my go to shoe for years. I’ll try my Newtons a few more times but if they get the neuroma going again I’m going to have to call that a failed experiment.

Leave a Reply

