• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

The NOW Body

I read an article in The Times this weekend called, The Body for Now that made me think of our quest.  It got my interest with the first line….”it all started with a lot of talk about bottoms.  My friends had become obsessed by bums…”.   The article goes on to talk about how super-skinny is just not in anymore.  Instead the dream physique is a healthy, sporty one obtained by “getting your kicks for fun instead of punishing yourself in the gym”.  A few celebs like Anniston, Paltrow, and Christensen are mentioned (as are some new shoes by Reebok) as examples.   They all cross-train and watch what they eat.  I guess it’s a bit easier when you can take your yoga instructor with you on location (Jen’s says that if you want to change your body you have to change your diet – which accounts for 80% of how you look).  I’m sure she has a cook too.  When she has a Mexican meal she doesn’t deny herself…oh, no! She will just have 3 tortilla chips.  Hilarious.  What fun is that?

I just finished week 7 – all 25 minute runs.  I have to say I’m finally starting to enjoy running.  AND I’m getting the good addiction to exercising again.  AND I do have much more energy.  At the end of this illuminating article it says….”you want to wear shorts?  Go for it.  Get down to the gym, the park, or get on a bike.”.  I’m still waiting for the magic bum and legs transformation.

I’m going to make a cake and have some nachos.

6 Responses

  1. Three tortilla chips? Yesterday for lunch I had half a cookie sheet of nachos and today I had pizza buffet. Last week in general was a healthy diet disaster – chocolate and chai every single day. I have this perverse bad-eating response to injuries. Must get with the program if I want a bum as fancy as Jen’s.

    Congrats on finishing week 7! You are blowing us away. I’m jealous – I have yet to enjoy a run to be honest. I did a test run yesterday to see how my foot would do. Did 10 plodding minutes and then a couple of two minute sections. Seems to be ok today so I think I will start easing back into it. Hoping we’ll be able to still do the 5k in London next month!

    • We can always do the 5K really slowly. 10 plodding minutes is how I start every run. I just hope I’m going a bit farther each time, but I actually have no idea.

  2. Oh, God, and I just posted a blueberry pie, of which I partook a la mode… twice. My poor bum is destined for flabby not fancy, I’m afraid.

    You three are doing awesome with your running plan, tho. Celebration in order: what time shall I arrive for nachos & cake?

    • Blueberry pie! Delicious. I had to say, I had way more than three nachos. The only thing missing was the margarita.

  3. Nachos. Nachos. Nachos.
    Ok, I’m pretty good at watching what I eat. But I’m not into denial. Made an awesome tomato-cream pasta sauce tonight. Fab. There’s cake, too. (I made blueberry cake a few days ago….what can we say, we dig our desserts).
    My bum, I’m afraid will never be fancy! I feel it’s getting bigger! How can that be?
    Cathlin, awesome on the 25 minute runs. I’m being such a chicken. I’m doing the first 25 minute run tomorrow. I’m skeert. I, too, am a slow 10 minute plodder. I loved what you called it last week, the old lady shuffle. The droopy bum takes some time to get rolling.
    Heather, drink more margaritas!

Leave a Reply

