• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

Liquid

Prosecco, Tanning Oil, Chia Seed Smoothie, and now this:

Green Foods Berry Barley Essence. I drank this.  And then I did my first 25 minute run on Tuesday.

The key word in this “energy drink” is Barley. It smelled like a field with a faint hint of strawberry to mask the grass. It’s a powder, you blend it with juice. 8 oz of it. I drank it, looking out my kitchen window at the field. The relationship between what I was consuming and what I was looking at was not lost on me. It tasted pretty good. Scott Jurek (ultramarathoner superstar, also featured in Born to Run) gave this mix to a friend of ours, he saw him speak at a race, and then he passed it on to us (he couldn’t get it down).  I guess there are a lot of health properties related to Barley, like wheatgrass. I don’t know. I just drank it.

And my run was really good. I don’t think it was related to the drink. But, it didn’t make me throw up. The 25 minute run felt like a milestone. My legs were tired afterwards. My face was flushed, like it used to look when I used to run regularly (over 10 years ago, holy buckets), and I felt good. The run wasn’t easy. I wish it had been. But the key thing — just keep going. Even if you want to stop. And your legs feel heavy. Just keep moving. The mind is a powerful thing.

Also, I just read an article about feeling creatively “dry”. The upshot of the article — you’re probably dehydrated. Drink more.

Liquids.

Today I did the second 25 minute run, Week 7 Day 1. And then I did the Tracy Anderson Workout. What? I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Maybe it IS the Barley.

I’m going to go take a shower.

6 Responses

  1. I need to get some of that magic energy drink! Going to attempt my first 25 minute run soon…if my foot cooperates.

    Congrats on starting week 7!

  2. I’d like some of that drink. I actually like those green drink things.

    I knew you could do the 25 minuter. It’s so much better than stopping and starting. Excellent work.

  3. I like the green things, too.
    I don’t know if the drink is magic. And I do wish the 25 minutes were easier. Today, I actually had to stop a couple times (I forgot to mention this) because I was running uphill. Up Moffat. Why…oh, why. I thought it would be a good challenge. But it kicked arse. The downhill was glorious, though.

    • Law. Moffat IS a killer. I ran up it (with walking breaks) back when I was in the middle of my seal team class. The run down was excellent though. I ran into Chris on his way up – I think he thought I had run the whole thing ’cause he asked me if I ran every day. Didn’t have the heart to tell him the whole truth.

      • I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to run up the whole thing. I had to walk break the whole way up. But now I have landmarks, how far I made it yesterday before breaking, see how far I can get next time. Chris doesn’t go up Moffat, I don’t think! One rarely sees one running up that hill. It’s a goal! And it’s shady.

  4. Um… barley-drink? I’m sure it’s quite… effective.

    I think I’ll go back & look at the cakes again, wink!

Leave a Reply

