• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

kicking ass and taking names

Dodgeball Champion

Yes, that’s right, I am a dodgeball CHAMPION!

At great personal risk, I selflessly took a couple of hits to enable the stronger players on our team (those that could actually throw a ball and hit someone) to press on for the win.

I’m so proud.

ALSO,  this morning – after almost three weeks off from running  –  I did the full 25 minute run!   And it was awesome, even with a big dog in tow.  In fact, I felt like I could have gone farther but decided not to push my luck.

Three factors figured into the general awesomeness of the experience:

  • By the time I wrangled Daisy and got out the door, it was 6:00 and already at 74% humidity.   But, it was only 67 degrees.  Glorious in comparison to the damp 90 degree days we’ve been having.
  • I took a new route down Monument Avenue and kept to straight paths as much as possible.  The wide open space made me feel free and avoiding a lot of turns helped me keep my momentum.

I’m so glad to finally be back with the C25K program.  Looking forward to officially starting C25K Week 7 and catching up to my sisters!

4 Responses

  1. Awesome news about the running, congrats!!! And about the Dodgeball, too. I didn’t know they had Dodgeball for adults, since I last played it on a playground in grade school — the adult version sounds dangerous! I see that “Related Posts” under your note has an entry reading: “Dodgeball is an Adult Game.” I’ll click that… right after I read about the Alexander technique, HA!

  2. What’s the story about dodgeball. I used to love to play.

    Glad to hear you are out running again. Running without stopping is definitely better, even if you really feel like you want to stop during the first 10 minutes…which to me take forever. It’s all good.

  3. I love that your Construction Trailer took the win. Construction Trailer … mean dodge ball machines. I LOVE Dodge Ball.

    Congrats on the run. Interesting about the straight ahead instead of turns, I’ve found that too. I take a lot of turns because I run around my property, but it does break the mo.

    Can’t wait to read the Alexander book.

Leave a Reply

