• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

graduation

Graduation comes in all sorts of ways. This week, my daughter graduated from 8th grade. Next year, she’s in high school. I can hardly believe it. It seems like just yesterday she was graduating from 5th grade, and she was  stressed about having to figure out how to use a locker with a combination when she got to middle school the next year. Now her concerns center around ensuring she maintains her unlimited text messaging privileges and if she can go on facebook. How she will change in high school — driving, dating, proms, college. I can’t wait.

I was hoping to have graduated from the C25K program this week, too. But, alas, I’m still in week 8, after repeating week 6 several times and delaying the uninterrupted running sessions I knew were coming. Though…Congratulations to Cathlin for graduating! And it sounds like you are finally truly enjoying your 30 minute runs. Look how far we’ve come! I’m still not to the enjoying running part yet. And this morning I felt like an elephant. But I trust that day will come and thanks for the inspiration, sisters. I want to graduate, too. And I need to do it before our cross-country roadtrip. I have until July 6.

I’ve also discovered that no new shoes, new song, new device, new route, time of day, energy drink can be as powerful a motivator as your Mind.  The mind-body connection is so purely connected when running. I can tell myself to quit (for so many reasons, I’m good at them) or I can tell myself to keep going. Despite tired legs, deer flies or humidity. I need to graduate from being controlled by my body and let go and love it.

“Strictly by accident, Scott stumbled upon the most advanced weapon in the ultrarunner’s aresenal: Instead of cringing from fatigue, you embrace it. You refuse to let it go. You get to know it so well you’re not afraid of it anymore.” Born to Run

Oh. And here are my new running shoes. Yeah, the mind is everything. But I’m really digging the new shoes. Mizuno Ronin 2.


9 Responses

  1. Love that pic of the girls. Moving on to High School is exciting.

    You are so right about the mind-body connection. Makes a huge difference. I hope I can continue and graduate with you next week! Hopefully I’ll just be a day behind.

    Cool shoes. : )

  2. Beautiful pic. What a great time in your life. It’s all about you and your friends isn’t it? Sigh. What will she wear her first day in high school. I remember what I wore…probably because I didn’t like it. Dark, no-name jeans, a pink short sleeved blouse, and some kind of topsider like shoes. Yuck.

    Mind-body. I am very, very bad at that. I am so easily distracted. I think it’s hard to develop later in life, too. Let’s keep trying.

    LOVE the shoes. I think they definitely help.

  3. I love my shoes, too. They are so so light. I can feel a lot more of the road with them on.

    Topsiders… What were you thinking. I don’t remember what I wore. But, I’m sure KK will spend weeks planning that out.

    Yeah, Heath. Let’s graduate all ready!

    • I have never heard of those shoes. I’ll try yours on when I get to NY. I’m looking forward to running in your field!

      I know. Topsiders. What are you talking about? You were probably wearing them too. I just hope they didn’t have white soles.

      • I have no idea what I wore my first day but I do remember that I couldn’t find Topsiders to fit my skinny feet and was bummed about it. Ha!

      • If they were Topsiders, they had white soles. No way around it.
        I’m sure I didn’t have any. I was probably wearing something like Candies. Or Penny Loafers….ewwwwww.

  4. Colleen:
    Oh, the mind is critical. But even more powerful when combined with the heart and the soul. The picture of the girls is sweet, sweet, sweet. Yes, they are moving on up to HS. Crazy to think. Crazy but true. Thanks for sharing this great blog with me!
    Kathy

  5. By the way, I love the way my flowers look in this shot, too!

    • Your flowers DO look beautiful! I love the implied happiness in the photo.
      Thanks for reading the blog, Kathy. And yes, you are so right, the mind + the heart is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

