• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

racing for life

Cathlin and Heather, medalists

Yes, I can now officially say that I have raced internationally.  Woot!

Cathlin and I ran a 5K women-only Race for Life at Finsbury Park in London on Sunday, my last day in the UK.   The course meandered through the beautiful park – some on-road, some off-road (i.e. grass), and several long upward inclines including a so-not-fair  hill at the finish  (rude).

I developed a wicked stitch in my side about 5 minutes into the race that lasted until the very end.  I blame it on the milk I had with my cereal for breakfast.  Still trying to work out what I can and cannot eat before a run.   It was distracting and definitely took a toll on my energy.  I confess that I walked a bit on a couple of the hills – less than a minute total though so not too bad.    Cathlin was a rock star and kept jogging but stayed beside me.

We finished together in 34 minutes and 40-something seconds – about 8 minutes faster than my first race in the spring!  Feeling good.

5 Responses

  1. Girls. This is awesome. You look great in your outfits. Your medals are snazzy. You are international runners. Look how far you have come since, what, April? An inspiration, for sure. (as I have slacked off since finishing the C25K…but I’m back on it this week with days of 80 degree weather in store).
    Thanks and congrats!

    • Thanks! So glad Cathlin and I were able to do the race together – we missed you though! It was fun riding the tube home decked out in our sweaty running gear and medals. And yeah we have come a long way in a short amount of time haven’t we? When’s your race Colleen?

      I’ve done two runs since I got home and am still averaging only about 2.5 miles in 32 – 34 minutes. Can’t believe I squeezed in that extra half mile in the same amount of time on race-day. Definitely makes a difference being surrounded by other runners – even with hills!

  2. Well that was the last serious run I have done. I’m in vacation mode and for some reason i get very lazy, but very hungry. Not a good combo.

    The race was really good with lots of enthusiastic ladies. The warm-ups were a bit hilarious. 90’s style aerobics. Lots of grapevines and shaking your booty. We did them anyway. They broke the groups up into runners, joggers and walkers. After a look around we decided we were runners so we went with the first group…no problem. We did really well. The uphill at the end of the race was a bit rude, but we finished it and got our cheesy medals. Despite the fact that there was NOT ONE water station on the course. What’s up with that? Also got a goody bag with a few beauty product samples and a much needed yogurt bar.

    A nice pub lunch afterwords of steak, french fries, and of course “pudding” finished the day off perfectly. Aaah.

    Need to get running again.
    Tomorrow.

  3. What a great post! Hooray for international racing, those outfits w/running bibs & WOW, your finish time was fabu — rib stitch be damned!

    Boo on no water stations & an uphill grade at the end of the course (definitely RUDE). You guys are awesome fun 🙂

    I just ran my longest run ever, 4.5 mi., yesterday, but with a lousy time… still, I did it. Wish I had some cool sisters to talk smack to. Oh wait, that’s what other 40-something new-to-running women bloggers are for (giggle)!

    • Thanks and congrats on the 4.5 miles! That’s awesome even if it was a lousy time (for you). Feel free to talk smack over here anytime. ; )

      When are you going to do your 10K?

Leave a Reply

