• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

together

The sisters, and dog, were finally together last week for our own official/unofficial early morning extremely humid, hot August 2010 5K Fun Run.  The stats:  88 percent humidity, 75 degrees, 5k, 6:00 am, 46minutes and some change. (46 minutes, that’s the “fun” part).  Daisy was a little confused by the extra company and kept looking back to check on us, but she is a great running companion, and it’s a welcome break when she needs to stop to sniff or do other business..even it she’s faking it.

Thank goodness for some early-morning lawn waterers that gave us the chance to run through a couple of sprinklers. We were a bit slow that morning and I think we were technically lapped by other runners who seemed to quickly pass us more than once. But we finished.  Medals were awarded (hand made and personalized by the kids).  Biggest news…..shorts were worn.  Scary.  We were desperate in the humidity.

What next?  8k?  10k?  Need a plan.

9 Responses

  1. I’m happy we were finally able to get it together, despite the conditions. Next time let’s shoot for fall or spring.

    And kudos to Colleen and Cathlin for wearing shorts. I stuck with my capris. Maybe next year.

    Next steps – Run Like a Girl 8k! As long as my foot holds up.

  2. Yippee! Here’s to the shorts-wearing, ass-kicking, road-running sisters! Great job. Colleen, we need to run together one of these days.
    Kathy

    • Thank Kathy! I dont know how much ass was kicked but we had a great time together. Yes! We should definitely run together. Maybe after School starts and the weather cool. (i’ll need to wear pants afterall).

  3. Oh my God, I am so behind on reading fun blogs… and look what I almost missed!!! Congratulations you guys!!!! Kisses for everyone (from Daisy, I see)!!!!!

    Boy, that humidity must have been a bear. I will be running the 5K leg of a family relay triathlon in Sept. (my Mom doing the 12 mi. biking, my sis doing the 300m swim). I will be thinking of you guys! I only have one sister, so Mom will do in a pinch, hee hee.

    Go for the 10K next! I am doing my first 5-mile race on Labor Day. Almost a 10K… do it! Show me the way!!!

    • Thanks Heidi! Good luck on the triathalon and the 5 miler – that’s awesome!

      I was all set to train up to an 8K in October but decided I need to take some time off of running to see if my neuroma will go away for good. Dang. So I’m biking instead. Don’t want to lose my momentum.

      Thankfully Cathlin and Colleen haven’t had any issues so they can keep going for the team!

      • Just saw this… bummer about the neuroma of the foot still hanging around. Biking is great as a way to keep cardio-fit while you work it out, tho! I actually find biking to be more fun than running, because of the ground you can cover (more & better scenery). Enjoy!

        Hope I’ll still “see you around” while you continue your overall fitness work. I like your food & travel posts too, you know, tee hee!

      • We are totally slacking on the blogging this summer! Plan to get back to it soon though. We were just talking about what we want to talk about. Books, food, travel. Definitely not just running. Talk to you soon!

  4. […] well, well.   I can’t believe it has already been a month since our fun run.  And nary a peep from the sisters.  What a bunch of […]

  5. […] been feeling a distinct lack of motivation after completing the Couch to 5k plan and completing our official / unofficial 5k.  Lots of excuses:  too hot, too humid, too busy.  What to […]

Leave a Reply

