• sisters on a mission.

  • Three sisters. One in Virginia. One in London. One in New York. None of whom wear shorts. Ever.

  • the mission?

    Running.
    Taking delight.
    Learning Italian.
    Getting to Italy.
    Wearing shorts.
    In Italy.
    June 2011.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

Easing into 10k

Today has been one of those days that makes me glad we’ve started a new training program.  It started with raisin bread and peanut butter for breakfast (chased with carrot juice – so not completely bad).  But then – M&Ms at 10:00.  Next a huge plate of pasta at lunch quickly followed with a large chunk of dark chocolate truffle extravaganza.  The 3:00 chai and pumpkin bread set me up for the afternoon.  And to finish it off, beer dinner at a local pub tonight.

As I said – good thing I’ve started running again.  The girls and I had been feeling a distinct lack of motivation after completing the Couch to 5k plan and completing our official / unofficial 5k.  Lots of excuses:  too hot, too humid, too busy.  What to do?

Set a new and more challenging goal for the fall of course!  Enter the Ease into 10k program.  At first I thought it would be strange to go back to 3 minute intervals when I knew I could already run 30 minutes.  However, it has helped both me and Daisy to get back into the running groove.  We’re up to week 4 day 2 and going strong.

I’ve given up running with an iPod so I’m relying on my trusty watch to do the intervals rather than an app.  The cool things is that I’ve started to get a feel for how long I’ve run without looking at the time.  Sure, I’m usually off by 30 seconds or so but I figure it all evens out in the end.

That’s the latest and greatest on the training front.  I’m not working toward any race in particular but when I find one I plan to be ready.

6 Responses

  1. Good for you, Heather. I’m only on week 1. For about 2 weeks now. I definitely need the program to keep me motivated. I miss having the schedule and being on the same time schedule with you girls. Poo.

    And I want some of that chocolate truffle thing.

  2. I too have been having trouble getting going. I was looking back at our first posts when we were so focused…..on running, italy, and shorts. It’s easier when you feel summer coming and can get excited about that. But now, it’s dark in the morning so no running then, it’s cold and there is nothing but more of that for the next few months. Sigh. When to run when your only free time is darkness? I’m struggling.
    I still want to go to Italy with nice legs sticking out of my shorts. We should have gone in August.
    Maybe a treadmill?

    • I don’t mind running in the dark or cold in the morning. It’s quiet and there is less traffic. I just layer on the under armour, strap on a reflective belt (girl-scout sash-style) and go. BUT, I also run with a 90 pound dog so I don’t worry about my personal safety.

      I would be creeped out to run by myself in the city that early. In fact, we ran right by a couple of dudes in the midst of a drug deal in The Fan last week. I just tried to avoid eye contact and kept Daisy moving.

  3. Heather, I have tried to find you on FB but when I search Heather Lorin, there are many & none seem like you? Help? If the blog is going quiet, and you don’t mind my company thru FB, I’d love to see how you’re doing there… what do you say?

Leave a Reply

